top of page

Title. Double click me.

Back to main itinerary page

Mary's Magnificent City (Group C)


“Sometimes in our lives we all have pain, we all have sorrow, but if we are wise we always know that there is tomorrow.” Lean on me a song that our group C sang at a conference in Lourdes as we brought hundreds of spectators to their feet who contributed by joining in and dancing. This song connected to my time in Lourdes because of the relationship that I built with Mother Mary and acknowledging that I cannot overcome my sin and my sorrow without putting my faith into Mary to lead me to Jesus Christ and the Holy Spirit. Witnessing the sick find there peace by giving up on trying to control the uncontrollable and letting the Holy Spirit overcome them with joy was special to witness. Lourdes was almost like Disneyland for Catholics, everything was beautiful from the chapels to the Grotto and waiting in line to bathe in the miracle water reminded me of a place where adults felt like kids in the spirit of Mary and her magnificent city. In all my life I have never seen a place so devoted to the Catholic faith in ways that make you realize heaven waits for those who follow Mary towards Jesus and the Pearly gates; hundreds of volunteers tend to thousands of sick by pulling them in oversized wheelchairs to mass, to eat or even to stroll around town. My favorite experience was having the opportunity to carry Mary during the Marian Procession leading the way for thousands, I was also moved to tears when hearing the bag pipes play amazing grace as I stood on stage and glanced out into the light filled crowed swaying with candles in hand.

All together my time in France was filled with a beautiful light and I have gained tons of respect for the Country. I have been so fortunate for God to lead me on this pilgrimage to learn more about my faith and mostly about myself in ways I did not think I would when leaving home. I have been blessed to be led by Sister Magdelit who is filled with the love of the Holy Spirit and gifts it to all in her presence which my words cannot give enough credit to her positive influence on all of us. Lastly I want to conclude by saying I have been touched by the Holy Ghost in so many ways and that I am so grateful to my godmother for sponsoring this pilgrimage for me.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page